By Our Reporter, Shillong News | Shillong, Feb 05, 2017:

A total number of 107 candidates filed their nominations for the February 27 Assembly polls in Meghalaya on February 5th.

The prominent faces who filed their nominations include former Congress Ministers who are contesting from the NPP- Comingone Ymbon from Raliang constituency, Rowell Lyngdoh from Mawkyrwat constituency and Sniawbhalang Dhar from Nartiang.

The Congress Ministers who also filed their nomination include PWD Minister Martin M Danggo from Ranikor constituency,  Dr Celestine Lyngdoh who is also the MPCC chief from Umsning constituency and Deborah C Marak from Williamnagar constituency.

The other prominent names who filed their nomination include Hills State Peoples Democratic Party (HSDPD) president Ardent Basaiawmoit (Nongkrem), UDP working president, Jemino Mawthoh (Nongthymmai and Garo National Council (GNC) president Kalpana D Sangma (Chokpot) filed their nomination papers today.

The other prominent candidates who filed their nominations are Meghalaya Cabinet Ministers Martin M Danggo and Deborah C Marak who filed their papers from Ranikor and Williamnagar constituencies respectively.

Former cabinet ministers Comingone Ymbon, Sniawbhalang Dhar and Rowell Lyngdoh who are contesting on NPP tickets also filed their nomination papers from Raliang, Nartiang and Mawkyrwat constituencies respectively.

NPP spokesperson and Dadengre MLA James K Sangma and former MLA of Mawryngkneng and Congress candidate, David A Nongrum also filed their nominations.

Here’s what Meghalaya candidates have to say before elections!

Among the former MLAs who filed their nominations include Charles Pyngrope (Nongthymmai-Congress), PT Sawkmie (Mawlai-Congress), Ismail R Marak (Dadengre-Congress) , Timothy D Shira (Resubelpara-NPP), FW Momin (Mendipathar-NPP) and Martle Mukhim (Mawkynrew-HSPDP).

From among the women candidates who filed their nomination includes Teilinia Thangkhiew (Mylliem-HSPDP), Grace Mary Kharpuri (PDF-Pynursla), Dr Eureka P Lyngdoh (Mairang-Congress), Pelcy Snaitang (Ranikor-BJP), Probity Nongpluh (Pynthorumhrah-NPP) and Sarita Lyngdoh (Mawlai-PDF)

Till date, 146 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the February 27 elections.

The last date of filing nominations is February 7 and the scrutiny of candidates will take place the following day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here