By Our Reporter, Shillong News | Shillong, Feb 06, 2018: 
A total number of 139 candidates filed their nominations for the 27 February Assembly Polls on Tuesday.
Among the prominent faces who have filed their nominations include Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma who filed his nomination from Ampati, opposition leader, Dr Donkupar Roy (Shella-UDP), former Chief Minister, Salseng Marak (INC-Resubelpara), former Lok Sabha MP, Agatha Sangma (NPP-South), former Rajya Sabha MP, Thomas A Sangma (NPP-North Tura) and GHADC CEM, Boston Marak (Salmanpara-GNC).

Moreover, the sitting MLAs who filed their nominations include Paul Lyngdoh (UDP-West Shillong), Winnerson D Sangma (Salmanpara-INC), Limison D Sangma (Raksamgre-INC), Embhahlang Syiemlieh (UDP-Mawlai) and HB Nongsiej (UDP-Mawthadraishan).
The Congress Ministers who filed their nomination include Ronnie V Lyngdoh from Mylliem constituency and Martin M Danggo from Ranikor constituency.
The former sitting MLAs who have filed their nominations include AL Hek (BJP-Pynthorumkhrah), Sanbor Shullai (BJP-South Shillong), Saleng A Sangma (NCP-Gambegre), John Leslee K Sangma (South Tura-NCP), Robinus Syngkon (BJP-Mookaiaw), Justine Dkhar (BJP-Khliehriat), Stephanson Mukhim (NPP-Amlarem), Lambok Mylliem (PDF-Jirang), Michael T Sangma (Independent-Tikrikilla), Dr PW Khongjee (BJP-Sohra) among many others.
Among the former legislators who filed their nominations include Bindo Mathew Lanong (UDP-East Shillong), JA Lyngdoh (BJP-North Shillong), Francis Pondit Sangma (INC-Rongara-Siju), Brening A Sangma (NPP-Rongara-Siju),  Phillipole D Marak (NPP-Gambegre), Sayeedullah Nongrum (Independent-Tikrikilla) among many others.
The other prominent figures who filed the nomination is former IAS officer and Congress candidate from Nartiang constituency, Jopthiaw Lyngdoh.
Among the sitting KHADC MDCs who filed their nomination include Rona Khymdeit (UDP-Nongpoh), LG Nongsiej (PDF-Nongstoin), Latiplang Kharkongor (PDF-Nongthymmai) and Neil Antonio War (BJP-East Shillong).
Till date, 285 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the February 27 elections.
The last date of filing nominations is February 7 and the scrutiny of candidates will take place the following day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here