By Our Reporter, Shillong News | Shillong, April 2, 2018: 

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced the polling date for Williamnagar Assembly constituency, election of which was earlier postponed following the death of a candidate of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Late Johnathone Sangma, who was killed in an IED attack in Williamnagar on February 18, days before the state went to polls on February 27.

According to a letter issued to the press by Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer, FR Kharkongor, polling in this constituency will be held on April 27.

ALSO READ: Meghalaya: Johnathone’s wife, Krinilla R Marak to step into late husband’s shoes

The last date for filing of nomination by the candidate of NCP only in pursuance of the commission’s notice is April 10. The date for scrutiny of nomination filed by the NCP candidate will be held on April 11, last date for withdrawal of candidature will be on April 13 and polling will be held on April 27.

It may be reminded that the NCP has decided to field Johnathone’s wife, Krenilla Marak to contest the election on her late husband’s behalf.

According to the letter, the date before which the election shall be completed on May 2 and counting of votes will be held on May 1 from 8 am.

ALSO READ:Meghalaya: NCP terms Johnathone’s death as ‘political murder’, demands NIA probe

Polling in this constituency will  be held from 7 am till 4 pm. The constituency has 58 polling stations and a total of 32,345 voters which include 16,713 males and 15,632 females.

On February 18, the 42 year old NCP candidate had gone to Sawilgre village, 14 KMS from Samanda across the Simsang river, for an election campaign. While he was returning from the campaign in a convoy of four vehicles, militants triggered a powerful IED blast near Denamgre village, 8 KMS distance from Samanda block headquarters across Simsang river in Samanda killing him and three others.

ALSO READ:IED Blast: NCP leaders meets CM Conrad Sangma over NIA probe

As many as 9 candidates will be contesting the poll from Williamnagar constituency. These include — Marcuise N Marak from NPP, Deborah C. Marak from the Congress, Mahamsing M. Sangma from UDP, Santosh R.  Marak from BJP, Sengbath R Marak, Lahatson N Marak, Siljong R. Marak and Jan N. Arengh as independent candidates. The candidature of NCP candidate — Krenilla Marak will only be ascertained after the date of scrutiny.

Meanwhile, the ECI is yet to announce the polling date for Ampati constituency, the seat which was recently vacated by former Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma following his decision to hold on to Songsak seat. It may be reminded that Dr Sangma had earlier contested and won from both the seats — Ampati and Songsak.

ALSO READ:Meghalaya: Eye witness recounts horror story of NCP candidate’s brutal death





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here