SHILLONG | July 29, 2019:

The demise of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Speaker, Late Dr Donkupar Roy has left a void in the state’s political arena.

Dr Roy passed away on July 28 in New Delhi due to organ failure. His body was flown back to Guwahati on July 29 morning from where it was brought to Shillong via road.

His funeral will be held on July 31 in Sohra and his body will be laid to rest in Shella.

Here are a few facts you should know about one of Meghalaya’s veteran political leader, Late Dr Donkupar Roy

##Dr Donkupar Roy was born on November 10, 1954. He was an Indian Politician. He is survived by his wife (Mrs R Synrem) and six children.

IN PICTURES: Dr Roy’s mortal remains reach Guwahati, CM accompanies journey to Shillong

##He did his primary school education from Ramkrishna Mission, Shella and Secondary school from C.P Secondary school Nongsawlia in Sohra. He completed his pre-university from St. Anthony’s College in Shillong (Science stream). He graduated from the same college with Economics honours. He did his post-graduation and PhD from North Eastern Hill University (NEHU).

##He was a teacher before he became a politician. He taught Economics at Synod College and NEHU.


##He joined politics in 1988 after being conferred Doctorate in Economics from NEHU. He was first elected to the 4th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly as an Independent candidate with ardent support of the then Alliance Reconstruction of Meghalaya State, a political body of the Khasi Students’ Union. His symbol was the “Drum”.

##In 1989, he was nominated as member of the Committee on Privileges, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly. He was a Minister of State in (L) BB Lyngdoh’s Ministry and served in various capacities in the government.

Meghalaya declares state holiday on July 31; 3-day mourning for Dr Roy

##In 1990, he was cabinet minister of Health and Family Welfare in the United Meghalaya Parliamentary Forum Government led by (L) PA Sangma.

##On March 23, 1990, he resigned from the Council of Ministers. He along with other MLAs withdrew as members of the United Meghalaya Parliamentary Forum and joined the United Meghalaya Parliamentary Forum (B) formed under the leadership of (L) BB Lyngdoh comprising of 21 members.

##In 1991, he was disqualified from being member of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly by the then Speaker (L) PR Kyndiah on the alleged ground of defection from his party/alliance and joining HSPDP (DL) along with two other members — Mrs MD Shira and Simon Siangshai. However, the disqualification of the Speaker was challenged in the Court. The Supreme Court set aside the ruling of the Speaker.

##In 1993, he was re-elected as Member of the Assembly.

##In 1997, he was the co-founder of the United Democratic Party (UDP) along with (L) BB Lyngdoh and (L) EK Mawlong. The party was allotted the “Drum” symbol.

##In 1998, he was re-elected as a member of the Assembly, and was cabinet minister incharge of Education.

##In 1999 – 2001, he was cabinet minister incharge of Health and Family Welfare.

##In 2001, he was cabinet minister incharge of Finance.

##In 2002, he was cabinet minister incharge of Health and Education.

##In 2003, he was re-elected as member of the Assembly. He was Deputy Chief Minister incharge of Power and Finance.

##In 2005-2007, he was Dy CM incharge of Revenue, Education and Power.

##In 2008, he was elected as member of the Assembly. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister.

##In 2009, his government was dismissed. The Congress party under the leadership of Dr DD Lapang came back to power. He and his party supported the Congress led government.

##In 2009-2012, he held the post of Chairman of the State Planning Board.

##In 2013, He was re-elected to the Assembly. He held the post of Leader of the Opposition till the end of the term of the House.

##In 2018, he was reelected to the Assembly and was unanimously selected as the Speaker of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here