SHILLONG | Sept 17, 2019:

In a matter of pride for the state, the Hopewell Elias Secondary School, Shillong was crowned Champions of the U-17 Subroto Cup 2019 after defeating defending champions — Bangladesh Krira Shiksha Protisthan at the Ambedkar Stadium in New Delhi today.

In the first half, Meghalaya’s H Elias School scored its first goal through a brilliant kick form Sangti Janai Shianglong leaving the defending champion trailing by one goal.

ALSO READ | Meghalaya: HSCL to develop sports infra for National Games in state

In the second half, two players from Bangladesh Krira Shiksha Protisthan were awarded red-cards reducing the number of the “boys in blue jerseys” to 9 players.

The winner took home a trophy besides a cheque of Rs 4 lakh while the runners’ up was awarded Rs 2.5 lakh.


Besides the winning trophy, the Meghalaya team also bagged several awards including — Best Player, Best Goal Keeper, Best School and Best Coach.

The final match was also witnessed by Chief of the Air Staff, Birender Singh Dhanoa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here