Home News Desk Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma exudes confidence in winning Tura, seat announcement likely...

Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma exudes confidence in winning Tura, seat announcement likely tomorrow


By Our Reporter | Shillong |Mar 14, 2019

Meghalaya Chief Minister and NPP president, Conrad K Sangma has expressed confidence that the NPP will win the Tura Parliamentary seat despite the Congress’ decision to field former Chief Minister, Dr Mukul Sangma.


Conrad also mentioned that he is going to Delhi for the election committee meeting of the NPP and they will be announcing all the seats by tomorrow.

“We know that the party is getting a good response at the grass root level. The party organisation is very upbeat and therefore I am sure that the NPP would win the Tura seat by a very big margin,” Chief Minister while talking to reporters here today.


Conrad also informed that former legislator, Agatha K Sangma is the lone applicant for the party ticket for the Tura Parliamentary seat. “The party election committee will meet on Friday to decide on the party candidate for the Tura seat,” Sangma said before leaving for Delhi today.

Stating that it is a decision of the Congress to field the former Chief Minister, he however said that this decision is not going to have any effects on the chances of the NPP to win the Tura seat since the party has very strong presence throughout Garo Hills region.

Sangma said that the Government and the party have been working very hard in the past one year.

“The people are seeing the kind of work we have been doing. I am sure that the people of the State would like to see that good work of the present Government continues,” Chief Minister said.

Meanwhile, he said that the MDA allies are pretty clear with the decision of fielding the common candidate for the Shillong Parliamentary seat.

“Right from the beginning, we had made abundantly clear that we are committed to have common candidate. The people of the State also know what we are planning to do,” Sangma said.

It may be mentioned that the Congress has decided to field former Chief Minister from Tura Parliamentary seat and sitting MP, Vincent H Pala from the Shillong Parliamentary seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here