By Our Reporter, Shillong News | Shillong, Feb 05, 2017: 

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released the names of two more candidates who will be contesting the ensuing Assembly polls from Mawhati and Umroi constituencies.

So far, the BJP has released the names of 47 candidates including Mawhati and Umroi. The party ticket for Umroi seat has been allotted to Field Marshal Mawphniang while for Mawhati, ticket has been allotted to Ban Buhai Makdoh.

BJP national spokesperson Nalin Kohli told Shillong News on Monday that the state president, Shibun Lyngdoh was very keen that Mawhati and Umori should also be released.

ALSO READ:Meghalaya Polls: BJP uncertain about 2nd list of candidates for 15 remaining seats

“Shibun Lyngdoh requested central leaders to consider releasing Mawhati and Umroi,” Kohli said adding that considering his request the party CEC has on Monday released the list of candidates for these two seats.

When asked whether the BJP will be fielding anymore candidates, Kohli said at the moment, these are the two names that have been declared even as he stated “I have always maintained that we will be fighting majority seats and so far 47 have been done which is already 3/4 of the total seats — which is a majority.”

It is likely that this will be the final list of the BJP as the party is more or less contended with the number even as they expect to cross the magic number.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here