By Our Reporter | Shillong, June 08, 2018

The Meghalaya Cabinet today decided to implement the 5th pay revision to the deficit school teachers of the State with effective from July 1, 2018.

“The deficit teachers will be getting the new pay scale from next month,” Education Minister Lahkmen Rymbui told media persons after the Cabinet meeting today.

He further said that the arrears will be paid to the deficit teachers in four installments with 25 percent each.

Revealing the financial involvement, Education Minister said that the additional fund which is required for implementation of the new pay revision is Rs 84 crore.

“The Government would need an amount of Rs 126 crore for payment of the arrears from January 1, 2017 to June 01, 2018,” Rymbui said adding that the department will work out with the Finance Minister for payment of the first installment of the arrears.

On the number of deficit teachers in the State, Education Minister informed that in the deficit secondary school, the total number of non-teaching school is 322 while the teaching staff is 1921.

In the deficit higher secondary school, Rymbui informed that the total number of teaching staff is 129 and the number of non-teaching staff is 57.

He further informed the total number of teaching staff in the deficit pattern 85 while the total number of non-teaching staff is 17.

Replying to a query, he said that as of now, the State Government is spending around Rs 278.39 crore on the salaries of the deficit schools annually.

“With the implementation of the new pay, the Government will be spending more than 300 crore plus annually on the salaries,” Education Minister said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here