• Meghalaya Gymnastic Association revived in state
  • Association aims to foster the discipline at all level
  • With National Games 2022 coming up, State hopes to make a mark in this discipline

Shillong, Oct 02, 2018: 

The Meghalaya Gymnastic Association was revived and revamped with an objective to train and prepare athletes in view of the upcoming National Games 2022.

According to a release issued by the MGA, a new body was re-elected under the leadership of Nongkrem MLA Lambor Malngiang, with a vision to inspire athletes to discover and pursue their aspiration in Gymnastics.

“The newly revived association aims to provide children and athletes with an opportunity to participate in this particular discipline while contributing to the sports upliftment in the State,” said MGA Publicity Secretary Moirangthem Rustum Singh.

Singh further said that the association aspire to foster and encourage Gymnastic at all level and also to raise the standard of gymnastic in the State.


The other aspirations of the association is to encourage young sports persons and to extend all possible help to state Government in developing Gymnastic.

Mention may be made that gymnasts from Meghalaya participated for the first time in the North East Sports festival held in Dimapur, Nagaland in 1989 which consisted of six boys and one girl.

In the year 1994, Meghalaya won its first bronze medal in the North East Sports festival held in Shillong.

Gymnastics demonstrations during the Republic Day and Independence Day parade were a regular feature in 1991-1993.

Besides, gymnasts from Meghalaya have brought laurels to
the state by participating in various National Games, National School Games and North East Games.

Following are the newly elected members of the Meghalaya Gymnastic Association:
President: Lambor Malngiang
Advisor: Francis Marwein
Working President: JR Marak
Vice President: Betterfield Mukhim
ER Malngiang
General Secretary: Lucy Mary Malngiang
Joint Secretary: Rida Lyndem and Connifer V Kharchandy
Publicity Secretary: Moirangthem Rustum Singh
Organising Secretary: Idalin Malngiang
Treasurer: Arwan Kharpuri
Executive Members: Merin Pol.K. Sangma, Phinda Lyndem, Henry Kharchandy, Ferguson J Shylla, Alphonsius P Warjri and Richmond Basaiawmoit.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here