By Our Reporter, Shillong News | Shillong, Mar 07, 2018:

The newly-elected MLAs of Meghalaya on Wednesday took oath as members of the state assembly.

Pro-tem Speaker Timothy D Shira administered the oath of office of the 57 MLAs in a swearing-in ceremony during the one-day special session held at the Ribong Assembly building.

All 57 MLAs including chief minister, Conrad K Sangma, his council of ministers, former Chief Ministers, Dr Mukul Sangma and Dr Donkupar Roy took oath today.

ALSO READ:‘Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) will provide better governance to people’ – Rajnath Singh

With the MLAs sworn-in on Wednesday, they will now elect a new Speaker of the House on March 12. It may be mentioned that Dr Roy will be the nominee of the NPP led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) while Salmanpara legislator Winnerson D Sangma will be the Congress nominee for the Speaker’s election.

Meanwhile, the Congress has appointed Zenith M Sangma and Himalaya Muktan Shangpliang as party spokespersons during the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting held at Dr Mukul residence today.

ALSO READ:Meghalaya: Meet the new cabinet ministers in Conrad-led coalition government



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here