From Our Correspondent, Shillong News | Tura, April 30, 2018: 

The clock is clicking! In just about few hours’ time, the fate of nine candidates contesting the Williamnagar poll will be decided tomorrow and the constituency will finally be represented in the Assembly after more than a month of the formation of a new government in the state.

Counting for the seat will begin at 8 am tomorrow.

Voting for the seat took place on April 27 with a total of 78.82% voters turning up to vote. election in this constituency was deferred following the murder of one of the contestabts, Jonathone N Sangma of the NCP by suspected militants of the Garo National Liberation Army (GNLA) near the village of Sawilgre while he was on his way back from an election campaign.

The 9 candidates in the fray are Deborah Marak (INC), Marcuise Marak (NPP), SR Marak (BJP), Krinila Marak (NCP), Mahamsing Sangma (UDP), Sengbath Marak (Ind), Siljohn Marak (Ind), Jan Arengh (Ind) and Lahat Marak (Ind).

Though the results may not immediately impact the current government, the fact that one of the prominent ministers in the last government will be fighting to win, will ensure that all eyes and ears are glued to the counting tomorrow.

“We just want development in Williamnagar, no matter who wins. We hope the person who can bring about the same thing represents us for the coming five years,” said one LD Shira, a resident and voter of Williamnagar in EGH.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here